Criminal Penalties in Texas

 

Felony Charge

Potential Consequences

Texas Statute

Capital Felony Death Penalty, Life in Prison without the possibility of parole unless the individual is a certified minor Tex. Penal Code Ann. §12.31
First Degree Felony Jail for life or Imprisonment for not more than 99 years or less than 5 years with the exception of aggravated sexual assault, which adds a 25 year minimum punishment if the victim is younger than 14 and the offense contained threats of serious bodily injury or death or the use of a deadly weapon AND potentially a fine not to exceed $10,000 Tex. Penal Code §12.32
Second Degree Felony 2 – 20 years in jail AND potentially a fine not to exceed $10,000 Tex. Penal Code §12.33
Third Degree Felony 2 – 10 years in jail AND potentially a fine not exceed $10,000 Tex. Penal Code §12.34
State Jail Felony 180 days – 2 years in jail AND potentially a fine not to exceed $10,000 Tex. Penal Code §12.35 (a), (b)

Misdemeanor Charge Potential Consequences Texas Statute
Class A 1 Year in jail OR A fine not to exceed $4,000 OR Both Tex. Penal Code §12.21
Class B 180 Days in Jail OR A fine not to exceed $2,000 OR Both Tex. Penal Code §12.22
Class C Fine not to exceed $500 Tex. Penal Code §12.23

Contact Us

No matter what type of criminal offense that you’ve been charged with, it is always recommended that you hire an attorney as soon as possible. Although the graphs listed above are meant to help give you an understanding of the range of punishments in Texas, the graphs are not an all-inclusive list of the types of punishments or penalties that the State of Texas can enforce. It is best to contact a criminal defense attorney who will help you understand exactly what sort of punishment you as a defendant are facing. To help you better understand what sort of punishments or penalties you may be facing Contact The Presti Law Firm, PLLC for TODAY at 214-342-8900.